UCA Distributes 500 Care Packages to Vulnerable Population in Naryn

91355457_2823163704431229_5740336774513688576_nUCA Naryn Support -1UCA Naryn Support -291021662_10218624479178010_2512595493528272896_o

The University of Central Asia (UCA), together with volunteers and social workers, brought smiles to the faces of Naryn residents on March 28th, as families in need received care packages at their doorsteps. “We were very happily surprised that the University of Central Asia came to our homes today with much needed medical and food supplies, and are most grateful for their support in these times of need,” said a grateful recipient.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, UCA distributed food and medical supplies to 500 families identified by the Mayor’s office in the vulnerable category in Naryn (Kyrgyzstan). This includes masks (2000), hand sanitizers (500 litres), antibacterial soap (1500 bars), flour (2500 kg), pasta (1500 kg), and cooking oil (500 litres). This donation was made possible through a partnership between the University of Central Asia, the Aga Khan Development Network, the Aga Khan Foundation Kyrgyzstan, and the Kyrgyz Investment and Credit Bank (KICB).

“The University of Central Asia’s initiative to provide food and medical supplies to families in need has won the gratitude of the people and government of Naryn,” said Nurbek Moldokadyrov, Mayor of Naryn. “We hope other NGOs will be inspired by UCA’s example and provide support as well during these difficult times.”

“Although the Aga Khan Development Network is responding to the COVID-19 pandemic in all areas of its operations in Kyrgyzstan, UCA is particularly focusing on the vulnerable population identified by the Mayor’s Office in Naryn,” said Prof. Dr. S. Sohail H. Naqvi, Rector of UCA. “Because Naryn has a short supply of essential items, we arranged a shipment of food and medical supplies from Bishkek.”

The University has prepared 90 beds on the campus grounds for observation zones as part of the mitigation procedures for COVID-19 spread in Kyrgyzstan. To give a boost to the local economy, UCA has also purchased mattresses, blankets, pillows and linen made by women from the rural areas of Naryn.

Уязвимые жители Нарына получили 500 пакетов с предметами первой необходимости

91355457_2823163704431229_5740336774513688576_nUCA Naryn Support -1UCA Naryn Support -291021662_10218624479178010_2512595493528272896_o

У уязвимых семей Нарына появился повод для хорошего настроения – 28 марта Университет Центральной Азии (УЦА), волонтеры и социальные работники привезли им предметы первой необходимости. «Мы были приятно удивлены, когда сегодня к нам приехали представители Университета Центральной Азии – привезли столь необходимые нам медицинские товары и продукты. От всего сердца благодарим их за поддержку в это непростое время», – отметил один из благодарных жителей.

В условиях пандемии коронавируса COVID-19 пятьсот семей, которые по данным мэрии города Нарына (Кыргызстан) относятся к уязвимой категории, получили от УЦА продукты и медицинские товары: маски (2000 шт.), антисептик для рук (500 литров), антибактериальное мыло (1500 шт.), муку (2500 кг.), макароны (1500 кг.) и растительное масло (500 литров). Эта помощь стала возможна благодаря партнерству между УЦА, Организацией Ага Хана по развитию и Фондом Ага Хана в Кыргызстане и ЗАО “Кыргызский Инвестиционно-Кредитный Банк”.

«Жители и руководство Нарына благодарны Университету Центральной Азии за его инициативу предоставить нуждающимся семьям медицинские товары и продукты питания, – сказал Нурбек Молдокадыров, мэр города Нарына. – Мы надеемся, что НПО последуют примеру УЦА и также предоставят поддержку в это сложное время».

«Организация Ага Хана по развитию предпринимает необходимые меры сдерживания пандемии вируса COVID-19 во всех регионах республики, где она работает, однако УЦА уделяет основное внимание Нарыну, в частности тем группам населения, которые по данным мэрии города являются уязвимыми, – рассказал ректор УЦА проф. д-р Сохаил Х. Накви. – Учитывая ограниченность в Нарыне запасов товаров первой необходимости, мы организовали доставку из Бишкека в Нарын продуктов питания и медицинских товаров».

УЦА подготовил на территории своего кампуса 90 кроватей для создания зоны наблюдения в рамках мер по сдерживанию распространения вируса COVID-19 в Кыргызстане. Помимо этого, чтобы поддержать местную экономику, УЦА закупил матрасы, одеяла, подушки и простыни, которые произвели женщины из сельской местности Нарынской области.