AmCham in cooperation with the Company Green Light held a business meeting with Natalya Kasperskaya

On March 29, 2016 the American Chamber of Commerce in the Kyrgyz Republic, in cooperation with the Green Light company based out of the American University of Central Asia (AUCA), held a videoconferenced business meeting dedicated to the contemporary threats to businesses and their prevention, with the participation of the Co-Founder of “Kaspersky Lab”, the President of the InfoWatch group of companies with over 20 years of experience in the eld of IT security, one of the most inuential women in Russia — Ms. Natalya Kasperskaya.

1
2

According to the analysis conducted by Natalya Kasperskaya for 2015, only 33% of information leaks occur as the result of external attacks. 67% of the leaks are due to internal attacks, i.e., the “subversive activity” of company employees. Therefore, it is important to pay special attention to the employees who have access to condential information. According to Natalya Kasperskaya, they are the ones who serve as the main channels for the leakage of condential information.

 

– Concurrently, 93% of the leaked information represents personal data (databases containing information on employees, customers, and certain groups of the population, etc.), which could later be monetized, sold to someone else. According to the statistics, hackers are much less interested in commercial and state secrets. While previously the leaked information was in the form of paper documents, it is now predominantly electronic information. Thus, the volume of information leak in the electronic form has increased from 23% to 43% since 2006, – said Natalya Kasperskaya during the videoconference.

 

Nearly 20 local companies attended the meeting, representing a range of sectors from construction to nancial, tourism, trade and production. All of them, in one way or another, have encountered technical attacks against them in the past; therefore, the guest lecturer was asked many questions. Natalya Kasperskaya explained in detail about the modern means of technical protection, the requirements for the technical means, the mechanisms to prevent the threats, and the means to protect the information.

 

– With the development of information technology, the technological capabilities of cyber-attacks are also developing. And in doing so, the security tools are always one step behind the development of the technology. First, a technical novelty is invented, and only then – a means to protect it. And, while the tools for automated monitoring for vulnerabilities and threats are already in existence, the tools for automated repelling of attacks are yet to be invented. Usually, there are several channels of information leakage. Attacks in social networks, which are becoming increasingly popular, cover a very wide audience. The methods of repelling the cyberattacks vary case-by-case. A machine is unable to foresee and repel everything. Therefore, the attacks are repelled “manually”, by people, – summarized Ms. Kasperskaya.

 

At the end of the event, it was decided to continue holding such meetings – both through videoconferencing and in real time (meetings and trainings on cyber security).

AmCham совместно с Компанией Green Light провела бизнес-встречу с Натальей Касперской

29-го марта Американская торговая палата в Кыргызской Республике совместно с компанией Green Light на базе Американского университета в Центральной Азии (АУЦА) провела бизнес-встречу по видео- конференцсвязи, посвященную современным угрозам предприятиям и их предотвращению, с со- основательницей «Лаборатории Кас- перского», президентом группы компаний InfoWatch, с более чем 20-летним опытом работы в сфере IT и безопасности, одной из влиятельных деловых женщин России — Натальей Касперской.

1
2

По данным анализа, проведенного компанией Натальи Касперской за 2015 год, только 33% утечек информации происходит в результате внешних атак. 67% приходится на внутренние атаки, то есть «подрывную деятельность» сотрудников компании. Поэтому важно особое внимание уделять сотрудникам, имеющим доступ к секретной информации. Именно они, по словам Натальи Касперской, являются основными каналами утечки конфиденциальной информации.

 

– При этом 93% утекшей информации – это персональные данные (базы сотрудников, базы клиентов, базы определенных групп населения и т.д.), которые затем можно монетизировать, продать кому-либо. Гораздо меньше взломщиков интересуют коммерческие и государственные тайны, согласно статистике. Если раньше информация утекала в виде бумажных документов, то теперь преобладает электронная информация. Так, с 2006 года утечка информации в электронном виде выросла с 23% до 43%, – рассказала во время видеосвязи Наталья Касперская.

 

На встречу пришли около 20 местных компаний, представляющих строительный, и финансовый секторы, туризм, торговлю и производство. Все они в той или иной мере уже сталкивались с техническими атаками на них, поэтому вопросов задали гостье немало. Наталья Касперская подробно рассказала о современных средствах технической защиты, требованиях к техсредствам, механизмах предотвращения угроз и способах защиты информации.

 

– С развитием информационных технологий растут технологические возможности кибер-атак. Причем средства защиты всегда отстают на шаг от развития технологий. Сначала появляется техническая новинка и уже потом способ ее защитить. И если инструменты автоматизированного мониторинга на уязвимости и угрозы уже существуют, то инструментов автоматического отражения атак пока нет. Обычно существует несколько каналов утечки информации. Атаки в соцсетях, которые становятся все популярнее, охватывают очень широкий круг аудиторию. Способы отражения кибер-атак в каждом случае индивидуальные. Машина не может всего предусмотреть и отразить. Поэтому отражаются атаки «вручную», людьми, – резюмировала Наталья Касперская.

 

В конце мероприятия было решено продолжить встречи – как в видеоформате, так и в реальном режиме (встречи и тренинги по кибер-безопасности).